31 December 2005

Happy New Year!

I'm so damn The current mood of augustdreams at www.imood.com

I'm blatantly stealing not only the idea of writing a letter to a year but also a direct quote from my amazing unofficial big sister. I simply couldn't resist her turn of phrase, even if it applies to a different year for me than it does for her. So my apologies to her and if you're not already, you should be reading her diary.

Dear 2005,

You were the sweaty grimy putrifying amputated moose-balls of all suckage years. You were the year I fell in love so hard and the man who told me he wanted to spend the rest of our lives together not only threw my love away but tore it up and stomped on it first. You were the year the restaurant I loved working at went under and laid me off. You were the year I lost my sweet little Woodstock. You were the year I didn't get to spend Christmas with my Miranda. You were the year that stole my precious Aprhodite from me. You were the year I spent so many nights crying my way through boxes of tissues while friends tried to comfort me and still loved me in spite of my mountain of tissues and ocean of tears.

But at the last minute, just when I was ready to write you off as a mean loss, you brought me D. I think I want to bless you for that. But the lesson you taught me about how very fucking dangerous it is to let go and fall in love is still fresh in my mind. As fast as I'm falling, this time the joy and magic is tainted by the knowledge that by loving this person, I'm giving them the power to break my heart.

Even with all the pain you've caused me, I think D. may very well turn out to have been worth every second of it. So thank you for that. All in all... it's been real and it's been fun. But it hasn't been real fun.

So welcome, 2006, while we stand. Heart to heart and hand in hand. New Year's hope shall always be, just so long as we have we. (With apologies to the Whos.)

Happy New Year and thanks for reading.

previous | next


Love the Bad Guys? Join my diaryring.

miss something?

Contest - 06 July 2012
Facebook! - 14 January 2010
naughty diary - 17 December 2009
Top 10 Horror - 21 October 2009
All ya need is love... bum ba da da da... - 20 October 2009

Get Notified:
NotifyList.com