April 15, 2003

Celebration

I'm so damn The current mood of augustdreams at www.imood.com

It's no secret that I get very excited about my birthday every year. I was thinking about that this afternoon. There are a couple of reasons why. One is that my family has always made a big deal over birthdays. The other reason is that I think life is not only an adventure but a challenge.

I'm proud of every year I've lived. I think another year in this crazy world is something to really celebrate! Living takes courage. Sure, we all see those people who swim with Sharks while trailing bloody fish behind them, or jump off some bridge with an elastic cord tied to one ankle. That's not courage - it's just risking your life for no good cause. I've feared for my life more than once and it's not my idea of a good time.

Real courage is giving unconditional love to the people that you can't imagine your life without - because caring for them is worth the pain of worrying about them when they're hurt or unhappy, and the risk of rejection that comes with opening your heart to another person. Real courage is loving a pet that you know you'll outlive because love is infinitely worth the sorrow that comes with losing them. Real courage is following your dreams, no matter how impractical. Real courage is being true to yourself, and loving who you are - flaws and all. Real courage is falling in love, designing tattoos, playing your flute, sailing your boat, building your hot tub, writing your novel, studying to become a Chef, teaching your little boy to talk - it's all of those things. Because it's a big, scary world out there, my friends. We're spinning along on our beautiful, blue planet in all that vast darkness. But each of us is a shining light, and we never shine brighter than when we're daring to live.

I can't wait to see what this next year has in store for me, and for all of us. Have a great day and thanks for reading.

previous | next


Love the Bad Guys? Join my diaryring.

miss something?

Contest - 06 July 2012
Facebook! - 14 January 2010
naughty diary - 17 December 2009
Top 10 Horror - 21 October 2009
All ya need is love... bum ba da da da... - 20 October 2009

Get Notified:
NotifyList.com