31 December 2006

A Visit from Cthulhu

I'm so damn The current mood of augustdreams at www.imood.com

A Visit from Cthulhu

'Twas the night the stars were right, when all through the house
Not a creature was unterrified, not even a mouse
The Elder Signs were hung by the chimney with care
In hopes that Great Cthulhu would not find his way there

The family were hiding, all under their beds
Whiles visions of insanity danced in their heads
And mama in her 'kerchief and I in my cap
prayed Great Cthulhu wouldn't wake from his nap
When out on the lawn there arose such a clatter
I sprang out from under the bed to see what was the matter!
Away to the window I flew like a flash
Threw open the shutters and tore down the sash!

The moon on the breast of the new-fallen snow
gave a lustre of mid-day to abominations below
When, what to my wondering eyes should appear
But a Squid-God whose visage inspired dread fear!
With tentacles many and already bearing bloodstain
I knew in a moment he'd drive me insane!

More rapid than eagles his minions they came
And he whistled, and shouted, and called them by name!
On Hastur, on Nyarlathotep, on Deep ones and Mi-Go;
on Fungi from Yuggoth, Yog-Sosoth, let's go!
To the top of the porch! To the top of the wall!
Now slash away, slash away, slash away all!

As dry leaves that durings strange aeons did fly
when they meet with an obstacle, mount to the sky,
So to the house-top the minions they flew
With eyes full of death and Great Cthulhu too!

And then in a twinkling I heard on the roof
the prancing and pawing of Shub-Niggurath's hoof!
As I drew back in terror and was turning around
down the chimney Cthulhu came with a bound!

He was green and tentacle'd from his head to his foot
And he looked angry to be tarnished by ashes and soot
A sack full of my neighbors he had flung on his back
and he looked all prepared to launch an attack!

His eyes - how they burned! His tentacles - how scary!
his breath was like carrion, his minions were hairy!
His sharp-toothed mouth was drawn up like a bow,
the sudden white streak in my hair was white as the snow!
The flaming limb of my neighbor Carl he held tight in his teeth
and the smoke circled his head like a wreath!
He was green and immense like some great, twisted elf
And I shook when I saw him in spite of myself!

The look in his eyes and sharp, bloodied teeth in his head
Soon gave me to know I had much to dread!
He spoke not a word but went straight to his work
Then caught sight of my Elder Signs and turned with a jerk!
Staring at them with hate, his minions, they froze
then giving me the finger, up the chimney they rose!

He took to the sky, to his team gave a whistle
and away they all flew like the down of a thistle
But I heard him exclaim over the screams of fright
I'll be back for you soon - when the stars are right!

previous | next


Love the Bad Guys? Join my diaryring.

miss something?

Contest - 06 July 2012
Facebook! - 14 January 2010
naughty diary - 17 December 2009
Top 10 Horror - 21 October 2009
All ya need is love... bum ba da da da... - 20 October 2009

Get Notified:
NotifyList.com