03 May 2006

Butterfly

I'm so damn The current mood of augustdreams at www.imood.com

It's always the smallest joys that light up my heart. At work today I offered to grab the windex and a roll of paper towels and go clean all our windows and ledges on the outside. I needed the peace. I really enjoy all the people I work with, but mine is a writer's solitary soul and I need a lot of time to myself. If I don't get that time I feel cranky, stressed and unhappy.

I stepped outside our cheery double doors and into the hot sunshine of a Florida afternoon. My mind gave a sigh of contentment and mulled over everything from my (final) birthday celebration this Monday night to the chapter of my book I'm working on currently to what sort of critter I want to adopt next. As lazy thoughts slid comfortably over me, I caught sight of something brightly colored in the periphery of my vision. A Monarch butterfly! I paused in my cleaning to watch it's happy travels and stretched my arm towards it. I didn't assume it would feel safe enough to light upon my fingers, but I couldn't resist trying. And for only the second time in my life, a butterfly honored me by resting on my fingertip. I stayed completely still, enchanted. My tiny friend folded her wings and rested. Less than a minute later, she was off again. I've yet to stop smiling.

I think maybe that visit was a kiss from Emily. A flash of color and joy to let me know she's happy. And so am I.

Have a great day and thanks for reading.

previous | next


Love the Bad Guys? Join my diaryring.

miss something?

Contest - 06 July 2012
Facebook! - 14 January 2010
naughty diary - 17 December 2009
Top 10 Horror - 21 October 2009
All ya need is love... bum ba da da da... - 20 October 2009

Get Notified:
NotifyList.com