January 05, 2003

Magical world

I'm so damn The current mood of augustdreams at www.imood.com

I believed in Santa until I was 12 years old. (Actually, I don't entirely disbelieve even now. Shhh, don't tell anyone.) As a wee one, I thought that God and Santa knew one another. (Quiet, you!) In fact, during the month of December, whenever I said my prayers at night, I'd say the 'Amen', thank God for the chat, and ask to talk to Santa next. (Apparently, I thought God could just say "The little red haired girl's on line two.)

I was also a firm believer in the Easter Bunny and the Tooth Fairy as well. When I was small, along with one of my baby teeth I left the tooth fairy a letter. I thanked her for the money, asked what she did with the teeth, and asked her to draw me a picture of herself. I was so excited to see her response! When I woke up the next morning, under my pillow was a crisp one dollar bill, and a letter written on beautiful paper. My mom, who happens to be the sweetest, kindest person in the whole world and the best mom ever, wrote (as the Tooth Fairy) that she added the teeth to her castle, where they turned into small pearls. She thanked me for the baby teeth I left for her, and drew a beautiful picture of a smiling fairy in a long gown, with a wand that boasted a sparkly tooth on one end. Naturally, she acted surprised and excited when I ran to show her my letter.

I believed in Leprechauns, too. I think I've already told that story. My grandfather told me that they lived in his closet and if you caught one, you could have three wishes. But if you weren't fast enough, they'd turn into pennies. He must've tossed dozens of pennies in the back of that closet. I used to reach in real quick - and figured I was just too slow.

Even now, I tend to be more of a Mulder than a Scully. I like to keep an open mind about our world. "Always keep an open mind, but not so open that your brain falls out." One of my favorite quotes, and my motto. I think there's much more than meets the eye, and wonders yet to be discovered. I'll always have a place in my heart, and my life, for magic.

Have a great night and thanks for reading.

previous | next


Love the Bad Guys? Join my diaryring.

miss something?

Contest - 06 July 2012
Facebook! - 14 January 2010
naughty diary - 17 December 2009
Top 10 Horror - 21 October 2009
All ya need is love... bum ba da da da... - 20 October 2009

Get Notified:
NotifyList.com