April 30, 2005

The truth is out there?

I'm so damn The current mood of augustdreams at www.imood.com

Some bearded professor was on the Discovery channel the other day going on about how we are the only life in the known universe and that this is because our planet alone contains the proper conditions to support life. You know what bugs me about that attitude? The assumption that all forms of life must be similar, if not identical, to us. Dr. Know-it-all ruled out the possibility of life on a planet like Pluto because it's "uninhabitable" due to it's temperature and atmosphere (or lack thereof!). Hello!? Not every form of life in the wide, wide universe must be carbon-based and require oxygen and a certain climate! Who's to say there aren't entities who breathe pure nitrogen and can only exist on a planet where the temperatures make absolute zero look warm and toasty?

It seems like such an arrogant, ridiculous notion that in all the vastness of space our planet is the only one capable of sustaining life. I can't even wrap my mind around how enormous the universe is... and I'm only thinking of the portion of it that we know exists. Imagine what remains unexplored! And then there are our eight neighbor planets. How can we say for certain that they're all barren and lifeless? For all we know, Jupiter is teeming with life in a form we don't recognize or understand. Human biology is not the be all and end all of life. And our size is not the only measurement of it. The variety of life on our little, blue planet alone is astonishing. We have Blue Whales and Katydids, Giant Squid and Dust Mites. So why are we looking only for beings our size, that live in our favored conditions?

That's not to say that I think life in the form of beings who are similar to us doesn't exist. I believe it does. I don't have first-hand experience with that, but two people close to me have had experiences that made me a believer. I just think that chances are, we're not even close to being alone in the universe.

Have a great weekend and thanks for reading.

previous | next


Love the Bad Guys? Join my diaryring.

miss something?

Contest - 06 July 2012
Facebook! - 14 January 2010
naughty diary - 17 December 2009
Top 10 Horror - 21 October 2009
All ya need is love... bum ba da da da... - 20 October 2009

Get Notified:
NotifyList.com