Tuesday February 6 2001

The Blizzard of 2001!

I'm so damn The current mood of augustdreams at www.imood.com

Location. Location. Location. If you're located in the Northeast, as I am, you can look outside your window and see a whole lot of snow. I've been up since 5:30 AM with the shovel and ice scraper trying to dig out our 2 cars, driveway and sidewalks. Mom and I took turns and we only finished an hour ago. How much snow did we get, you ask? I'm glad you asked! We got 3O INCHES!!! I think that amount is worthy of three exclamation points. At least.

We haven't had a storm like this since 1978. The Blizzard of '78 (I was all of 2 years old then.) is legendary around here but from now on I think the Blizzard of '01 will be the reigning legend. Six more months until the Big Move to Florida, folks. Feel free to send me lots of cardboard boxes. I'll stuff all the trappings of my New England life into them and bring them all with me to the Sunshine State.

My friend who is going through chemo isn't doing very well right now. If you pray, please say a prayer for her. Her name is Pat and she's one of the bright candles of humanity that light up this world.

I watched the news this morning. It made me cry. Again. Have people always been this crazy? Are times really worse or does it just feel that way because they're my times? Would I have cried in the 50's? Were kids killing each other then? Were shootings so rampant? It seems like those were more innocent times but maybe it's just that tragedy didn't used to be treated as a ratings booster and the anguished faces of the victim's family weren't splashed all over the screen and headlines and shoved in your face over and over again. It's not movies or television that's desensitizing us all the violence. It's the if-it-bleeds-it-leads mentality of the media.

previous | next


Love the Bad Guys? Join my diaryring.

miss something?

Contest - 06 July 2012
Facebook! - 14 January 2010
naughty diary - 17 December 2009
Top 10 Horror - 21 October 2009
All ya need is love... bum ba da da da... - 20 October 2009

Get Notified:
NotifyList.com